Committee	Date:
Board of Governors of the City of London School	7 December 2016
Subject:	
Terms of Reference and Frequency of Meetings of the	Public
Board of Governors of the City of London School	
Report of:	
Town Clerk	For Decision
Report author:	
David Arnold, Town Clerk's Department	

# **Main Report**

As part of the post-implementation review of the changes made to the governance arrangements in 2011 it was agreed that all Committees/Boards should review their terms of reference annually. This will enable any proposed changes to be considered in time for the reappointment of Committees by the Court of Common Council.

The terms of reference of the Board of Governors of the City of London School are attached as an appendix to this report for your consideration.

The Board is currently scheduled to meet four times each year: twice in the autumn term, once in the spring term, and once in the summer term.

# Recommendation(s)

That, subject to any comments, the terms of reference of the Board be approved for submission to the Court of Common Council as set out in the appendix.

The Board are also asked to consider the frequency of their meetings going forward.

## **Appendices**

 Appendix 1 – Terms of Reference of the Board of Governors of the City of London School

### **David Arnold**

Committee and Member Services Officer Town Clerk's Department

T: 020 7332 1174

E: david.arnold@cityoflondon.gov.uk]

PARMLEY, Mayor	RESOLVED: That the Court of Common
	Council holden in the Guildhall of the City of
	London on Thursday 21st April 2016, doth
	hereby appoint the following Committee until
	the first meeting of the Court in April, 2017.
	<u> </u>

### **BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE CITY OF LONDON SCHOOL**

#### 1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- one Alderman nominated by the Court of Aldermen
- up to 10 Commoners elected by the Court of Common Council at least one of whom shall have fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment
- the following ex-officio Members:-
  - the Chairman of the Board of Governors of City of London School for Girls
  - the Chairman of the Board of Governors of City of London Freemen's School
- up to eight co-opted non-City of London Corporation Governors with experience relevant to the Board

The Chairman of the Board shall be elected from the City Corporation Members.

### 2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any five Common Council Governors.

Any decision taken by the Board of Governors shall require the agreement of a majority of Common Council Governors present at the meeting and voting.

### 3. Membership 2016/17

#### **ALDERMEN**

1 Vincent Thomas Keaveny

### **COMMONERS**

- 2 (2) Keith David Forbes Bottomley, for two years
- 8 (4) Charles Edward Lord, O.B.E., J.P.
- 8 (4) Dr Giles Robert Evelyn Shilson, Deputy
- 11 (3) The Revd. Stephen Decatur Haines, Deputy
- 8 (3) Ian Christopher Norman Seaton
- 4 (3) James Michael Douglas Thomson, Deputy
- 8 (2) Marianne Bernadette Fredericks
- 5 (2) Sylvia Doreen Moys
- 18 (1) William Harry Dove, O.B.E., J.P., Deputy
- 14 (1) Joyce Carruthers Nash, O.B.E., Deputy

together with:-

Ronel Lehmann

Lord Levene of Portsoken

Christopher Martin

Dame Mary Richardson

Professor Michael Whitehouse

And together with the ex-officio Members referred to in paragraph 1 above.

### 4. Terms of Reference

To be responsible for:-

- (a) all School matters;
- (b) the management of the School land and buildings belonging to the City of London Corporation;
- (c) the appointment of the Headmaster/Headmistress and, where appropriate, the deputies and the Director of Finance.